Fan question ?

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
samuel pine
First Name: samuel
Last Name: pine
Board Member Since: 2004

Fan question ?

Post by samuel pine » Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:38 am

Couple years ago I machined fan bushings and a new bolt. All is good. but when I sleep this car is running
the roads even out of state by my youngest hatch-ling. Example being a retired cop my bro's stop by the shop and say what you doing riding around at 3AM? say what; I'm long in bed son. Now my fan is toast my
king pins toast my front tires toast, and this kid has a job, I do not. OK rant over. what do you think about
those new sealed bearing aluminum fan hubs? (1923) since this kid don't grease nothing just spends his pay
check on ebay for foolishness, god forbid not tires....Second rant over. Ya I got cabin fever. Oh well 4 more
months until 'so called spring time'

DanTreace
First Name: Dan
Last Name: Treace
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '23 cutoff, '25 touring, '27 touring
MTFCA Number: 4838
MTFCI Number: 115
Board Member Since: 2000

Re: Fan question ?

Post by DanTreace » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:08 am

IMO, the modern fan pulley with sealed bearings is the cat's meow. 8-)

100_2557 (347x580).jpg
100_2557 (347x580).jpg (40.51 KiB) Viewed 6084 times

Have rebuilt the Ford alum pulley fan with new bushings, and new shaft. Proud of repair, pulley spun real free, and no wiggle. Added the heavy oil to the reservoir and went off touring. About 200 miles or so, terrible squeal from the engine! Wife wondered that we had engine trouble and got the cell phone out of the purse! Couldn't turn the fan by hand, took off the belt, no more pig squeal.

Found that the pulley bushing had seized on the shaft. Either my ream job was off, or belt too tight, or whatever, that fan was frozen up.