Struggles At Low RPM

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
paddy1998
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Delaney
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1922/23 Touring
MTFCA Number: 50356

Struggles At Low RPM

Post by paddy1998 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:36 pm

I'm not very good with carburetors so I don't really know where to start. I have a Simmons Super Power.

Before I pulled the engine to do some other things everything ran fine. Since I put it back together the engine struggles and dies at low (idle) rpm. It needs a LOT more throttle to run

Removal consisted of disconnecting the fuel line and removing it with the intake manifold. I opened the drain on the bowl to drain the fuel, re tightened it and put the whole thing on the workbench where it stayed until I reinstalled it.

I never touched the needle adjustment, or anything else for that matter. I put it back on there exactly how it came off.

I'm flummoxed and don't know where to start troubleshooting this kind of thing.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Mark Gregush
First Name: Mark
Last Name: Gregush
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1925 cutdown PU, 1920 Dodge touring, 1948 F2 Ford flat head 6 pickup 3 speed
MTFCA Number: 52564
Board Member Since: 1999

Re: Struggles At Low RPM

Post by Mark Gregush » Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:50 pm

Does it have the flapper in it ? Try adjusting the spray needle. These are not plug and play carbs they need to be adjusted to meet the demand of the engine, you might be running too lean.
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas! :shock:

1925 Cut down pickup
1920 Dodge touring
1948 Ford F2 pickup

HPetrino
First Name: Henry
Last Name: Petrino
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1918 TT

Post by HPetrino » Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:03 pm