Low Gear Engaging Too Late

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Tadpole
First Name: Tad
Last Name: Glahn
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1925 Coupe, 1926 TT Closed Cab, 1924 Runabout
MTFCA Number: 51667
Board Member Since: 2021

Low Gear Engaging Too Late

Post by Tadpole » Tue Oct 26, 2021 7:39 pm

Now first off I’m very new to T’s. This 25 coupe is my first, and I have had it almost 4 months. I have not had the car around anyone knowledgeable with T’s, so my work is based upon what I’ve read in books, my limited mechanical skill and the experiences of others on this forum.

I bought the car from flat northern land, but I live in North Eastern Kentucky and there are lots of big hills. In fact, it initially wouldn’t make it up my steep driveway without slipping.

I have taken the hogshead off, replaced the band linings with new Kevlar, and replaced the band springs, low speed shaft, cam and notch. I also welded and redrilled the low speed pedal to reduce excess play. I inspected my drums and they looked good.

To adjust the low speed band, I let the car run, wait till the oil is warm and put the car in neutral. I tighten the adjusting screw until the car creeps then I back it off just a hair.

The car pulls up the steep drive perfectly now, but my low pedal fully engages too close to the fire wall to drive with the floor installed. I have made adjustments in and out on the low speed clevis but it currently doesn’t seem to help.
Is this something I should just keep playing with till it is correct? Or is there an issue I am overlooking? The brake and reverse pedals engage as soon as they are depressed, but my low, while engaging sooner than it did before, is still engaging too late.