Replacing brake quadrant on '23 Touring...

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
mrjaffe
First Name: Mike
Last Name: Jaffe
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1923 Touring
MTFCA Number: 51917

Replacing brake quadrant on '23 Touring...

Post by mrjaffe » Tue Dec 07, 2021 9:37 pm

I am brand new to Model T's but very old to mechanic'ing. One of my first projects on my T is to overhaul the hand brake assembly which is completely worn out. I've ordered a new pawl and brake quadrant along with the rivets for all of it.

I'd love to hear from someone who's undertaken this to get their wisdom on how to go about it. I've done some rivet work on airplanes but never with steel. And it looks like getting my air hammer in position will be a little tough without removing the running board.

Did I mention I'd like to hear from someone who's done this. :-)

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Scott_Conger
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Conger
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '13, '15, '19, '23
Board Member Since: 2005

Re: Replacing brake quadrant on '23 Touring...

Post by Scott_Conger » Tue Dec 07, 2021 9:52 pm

Mike

spend the money for the "expensive" quadrant...it's more than worth the extra $$

I do not rivet the quadrant in place. I use button head socket head screws and nyloc nuts. The screws will never break, they look like rivets, and the nyloc stainless nuts will stay on forever. Touch up with black paint and no one will be the wiser.

This is a worthy project and you're a wise man to tackle it now and not later.
Scott Conger

Tyranny under the guise of law is still Tyranny

NH Full Flow Float Valves
Obsolete carburetor parts manufactured

DanTreace
First Name: Dan
Last Name: Treace
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '23 cutoff, '25 touring, '27 touring