The 14 T is driving me nuts , starting mystery ...

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
dobro1956
First Name: Donnie
Last Name: Brown
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1927 Sport Touring, 1919 Speedster, 1914 Speedster, Wards tractor conversion, non starter 1926 Improved Touring
MTFCA Number: 49575

The 14 T is driving me nuts , starting mystery ...

Post by dobro1956 » Thu May 09, 2019 10:14 pm

The 14 speedster is driving me nuts. I know, "its not a long trip", but bear with me ... This is something totally new that I have never heard of before. ...

I removed the 1919 engine that came in the 14 speedster to use as a doner engine for the "1919 speedster project" that I have been working on for the last several years. I replaced that 1919 engine with a "known" 1927 engine that I had. That 27 engine is one that came in another car that we used for tours. When in the other car, I did a valve job, replaced the solid lifters with adjustable lifters, and generally did a complete go-over of the engine. It ran very well in the other car but there was a small crack in the block at the timing cover that leaked some oil, not bad, but just enough to annoy me. Other than the oil leak the engine ran very, very, well. The engine was too good of an engine to part out, So I did a complete overhaul of another engine to replace the one with the crack and small oil leak for our "tour car"

I mention all of the above to show that the engine I am now dealing with is a known good running engine, from a car that I have driven many times.

So now to my problem ... I now have the 27 engine in the 14 speedster and have it running. It runs very well, but the first "cold start" is a fight ...