remove rear brake drum

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Rod Petrie
First Name: Rod
Last Name: Petrie
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 TT

remove rear brake drum

Post by Rod Petrie » Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:57 pm

I can't remove the brake drum from the rear hub of my 26 TT, I am new at this. The other one came off easy. I have tried WD40 and a hammer then a bigger hammer, some heat but it won't budge. HELP.

Chad_Marcheese
First Name: Chad
Last Name: Marcheese
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1925 Cut Off Touring / Pickup, 1923 Doodlebug / 1924 Speedster Gow Job
MTFCA Number: 26904
Board Member Since: 2005

Re: remove rear brake drum

Post by Chad_Marcheese » Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:33 pm

Sometimes they can be a bugger to remove. Sometimes the register on the hub they sit on gets peened over preventing removal. And sometimes its just rust and paint that hold it on.

There is no real trick, obviously remove the nuts from the hub bolts and it should come off fairly easy. WD40 is not a great penetrant in my opinion, PB Blaster or Kroil are better options.

I hate to such drastic measures, but if all else fail, have you tried a pry bar between the hub and drum, or perhaps (and be very careful) a little heat around the hub / drum register?

Careful how you hit on these drums, Model T drums are not thick like modern cars and bend very easily.

George House
First Name: George
Last Name: House
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: ‘10 Maxwell AA, ‘11Hupp Model 20, Two 1914 Ford runabouts, 19 centerdoor, 25 C Cab,26 roadster
MTFCA Number: 115
MTFCA Life Member: YES
Board Member Since: 1999

Post by George House » Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:10 pm