Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
wdado
First Name: WALTER
Last Name: ANGLEMEYER
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1925 Touring

Post by wdado » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:16 pm

Hello everyone,

I just inherited a very neglected 1925 Touring T. I hope to make it enjoyable again. I just got the engine to run (quite rough, but running for a couple of minutes). Unfortunately the car seems to be in gear all the time.
I took off the transmission cover and tried to adjust the low gear bands, but it seemingly made no difference. Everything in the transmission looks clean, plenty of lube and no obvious issues. The bands seem to be tightened appropriately (but I am a novice, so maybe not).

Not sure where I should go from here.
Anyone in this area that I can go to for advice during my project?
Thanks for your suggestions.
Wally

CudaMan
First Name: Mark
Last Name: Strange
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1924 Cut Off Touring (now a pickup)
MTFCA Number: 30944
MTFCI Number: 23667
Board Member Since: 2013

Re: Newbie

Post by CudaMan » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:50 pm

I see from your profile that you are in Indiana, perhaps one of the folks in the club that support the Model T Museum in Richmond, Indiana can help.

https://www.mtfca.com/clubpages/museum.htm

https://www.mtfca.com/clubpages/chapters.htm#in

Since you have the trans cover off, try taking a video of the inner works of the transmission (with the emergency brake lever fully forward and the engine off) while you press each of the pedals in sequence, then with your feet off the pedals, pull the emergency brake lever from full forward to fully back.

Be careful not to let anything drop into the transmission!