Model TT Rear Brake Question

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Gbharless
First Name: Greg
Last Name: Harless
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1928 Chevy Doodlebug with a Ford TT rear

Model TT Rear Brake Question

Post by Gbharless » Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:55 am

I have a few questions after I pulled the Left rear wheel off my Doodlebug with a Model TT rear. It looks like a grease bomb went off and coated everything. The one pad was balled up in a grease covered wad and the other is pulling up from the shoe. I’m sure the other side looks exactly the same... Since I’m new to all this and don’t know anything about theses rears I’m hoping someone can help steer me in the right direction.

- Any idea what year this rear is? I think I narrowed it down to a 1918-1927 based on the brake spring.
- Is the brake lining kit my only option? https://www.modeltford.com/item/1057-8.aspx
- How do I disconnect and pull the left side of the brake shoes?
- Do I need inner oil seals in addition to outter seals?

Any advice, tips, pointers, criticism is appreciated since I’m a complete newbie and I’m learning as I go.

Thanks.
BAA14B8C-7764-4E37-9213-52C861012CFD.jpeg
FC49AD8E-4C52-43C7-A696-F2EFB0F645E5.jpeg
798577A4-4F23-4B76-844C-EDAE28D35642.jpeg

Topic author
Gbharless
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1928 Chevy Doodlebug with a Ford TT rear

Re: Model TT Rear Brake Question

Post by Gbharless » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:00 am

Update. Have everything off and cleaned up. Question about the pads and seals remain.

Thanks!
28D0A24E-9B29-4FC0-A831-69D0372184CB.jpeg
70372C2B-7633-42F0-B669-010FC4C40792.jpeg

HPetrino
First Name: Henry
Last Name: Petrino
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1918 TT

Post by HPetrino » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:06 am

Let's see if we can sort this out.