monocle windshield.

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
tdump
First Name: Mack
Last Name: Cole
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: TT. T express pickup,speedster project.
MTFCA Number: 28146

monocle windshield.

Post by tdump » Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:28 pm

After years of wondering if my Idea for a moncole windsheild was doable,I finally found a picture of 1. What would you use for windwo channel? I am thinking of finding a old car side window and taking the bottom off of it and making some cuts to make the angles and weld it back up.Then a glass shop could glue in the safety glass just like a car side window,only after cutting it to fit.

https://www.hemmings.com/blog/article/r ... speedster/
A stop sign shaped windshield.Being I put up road signs for a living before I got hurt,I kinda think it fits me .IF I put numbers on my speedster,for whatever reason,it will be 1057, my old truck number at work.
Attachments
windsheild.jpg
If you can't help em, don't hinder em'

DanTreace
First Name: Dan
Last Name: Treace
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '23 cutoff, '25 touring, '27 touring
MTFCA Number: 4838
MTFCI Number: 115
Board Member Since: 2000

Re: monocle windshield.

Post by DanTreace » Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:38 am

As there is a lot of shaking/wiggling going on with a Model T steering column, anchoring the heavy glass to only partial frame would need good sealant/adhesive silicone. You would want it very secure.

Way back....did the monocle on the speedster using the half frame alum. fixture sold by vendors, think they still make 'em.